Select A Category
Click on a subject to view related links or scroll down this page to browse the full list.
Careers, Occupations & Job Hunting
Quick e-Reference: Online Resources
Here are links to free online reference resources arranged alphabetically by subject.
Acronyms
Biographical Information
Business
- Annual Report Resource Center (IRIN)
- Bond Markets & Prices (The Bond Market Association)
- CCH Financial Planning Toolkit
- D&B US company search by regions
- EDGAR - SEC Filings
- Export.gov: U.S. Government Export Portal
- The Federal Reserve System
- Fed in Print (economic research publications)
- Beige Book (summary of economic conditions in each Federal Reserve district)
- FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System of Economic Research)
- Historical Stock Quotes and Charts (BigCharts)
- Hoover's Online Business Directory
- Income Tax Treaties: IRS
- Markets Data Center (Wall Street Journal)
- MarketWatch - Investor Tools
- Sample Business Plans
- ThomasNet (formerly Thomas Register)
- Trade Show Directory
- Treasury bills, notes, bonds, and TIPS auction results (U.S. Deptartment of the Treasury)
- U.S. Census Bureau Economic Data
- U.S. Customs - Import/Export
Careers, Occupations & Job Hunting
- Career InfoNet
- Career Voyages
- Careers.org
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
- O*NET OnLine [job descriptions]
- The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
- ScienceCareers.org
- Job Hunting in Broward County and South Florida
Consumer Information
- ABA Consumer's Guide to Legal Help on the Internet
- Better Business Bureau
- Consumer Web Watch
- Edmund's Car Buying Guide
- EPA fuel economy information page
- Federal Citizen Information Center
- First Call for Help of Broward
- Household Products Database: Health & Safety Information
- Kelley Blue Book Car Guide
- U.S. Government Recalls
Country Information
Dictionaries
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
- Glossarist.com: Glossaries and Subject Dictionaries
- InvestorWords.com: Glossary of Financial Terms
- Merriam-Webster Online
- Rhyming Dictionary
- Webopedia: Online Dictionary for Computer and Internet Terms
Directories
- Area Codes by Number
- Area Codes by State/Country
- BigBook: Address Finder and Business Directory
- Free Online Lookups: Multiple Directories
- Infobel: Worldwide Telephone Directories
- NSU Phone/Email Directory
- Reverse Phone Directory
- Public Record Locator
- State Data Center Directory: Census Bureau
- Zip Code Lookup: USPS
Education
- Educational Testing Service (ETS)
- Education Resource Organizations Directory (EROD)
- Educator's Reference Desk
- National Education Association (NEA)
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
- New York Times Learning Network
- PBS TeacherSource
- Refdesk.com: Education and Teaching Links
- School Psychology Resources Online
- State Education Agencies
- U.S. Department of Education (DOE)
- U.S. National Library of Education (NLE)
Encyclopedias
Government Information
- Government Printing Office's Ask-a-librarian service to the public: supported by government document depository librarians
- Federal Web Locator
- GovEngine: Federal, State, Local, and Court Resources
- Government Documents Center: University of Michigan
- GPO Access: Government Printing Office
- Library of Congress Portals to the World: Links to Electronic Resources from Around the World
- MyFlorida.com
- THOMAS: Legislative information from the Library of Congress
- U.S. House of Representatives
- U.S. Senate
- U.S. Supreme Court
- USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
- The White House
Grammar
- American Heritage Book of English Usage
- The Bedford Handbook (interactive grammar exercises)
- Blue Pencil Online (interactive grammar exercises)
- Common Errors in English: Washington State University
- Modern English Grammar: College of DuPage
- Practice Exercises and Answers (Purdue University OWL)
- The Elements of Style
Health & Medicine
- American Medical Association (AMA)
- AMA: Atlas of the Body
- CDC: Diseases & Conditions
- CDC: Health & Safety Topics
- HealthFinder
- Hospital Compare (U.S. Deptartment of Health & Human Services)
- MedlinePlus: National Library of Medicine (También en español!)
- Merck Manuals
- National Health Information Center
- National Institute of Mental Health
- Partnership For Prescription Assistance
- PDRhealth: Drug Information
- WebMD
Humanities
- Electronic Literature Directory
- HLAS Online (Latin American studies)
- National Endowment for the Humanities: Edsitement
- National Endowment for the Arts
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Law
- ABA Consumer's Guide to Legal Help on the Internet
- FindLaw: Internet Legal Resources
- Florida Statutes
- Global Legal Information Network: Library of Congress
- GovEngine: Federal, State, Local, and Court Resources
- Internet Resources compiled by NSU Shepard Broad Law Center librarians
- Legal Information Institute: Cornell Law School
- Attorney directory from Martindale
- Nolo Law for All
- Rule of Law Resource Center from LexisNexis
Maps & Geographical Information
- GIS Gateway: Census Bureau
- Maps on Us
- MapQuest
- National Atlas of the United States
- National Geographic's MapMachine
- Panoramic Map Collection: Library of Congress
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
- Rand McNally
- U.S. Gazetteer: Census Bureau
- US Geological Survey: Maps
- Yahoo! Maps
Politics
- Candidates on the Issues
- Democratic National Committee
- Elections and Electoral Systems by Country
- Factcheck.org
- Green Parties of North America
- Initiative and Referendum Institute
- League of Women Voters
- Libertarian Party
- Project Vote Smart
- Reform Party
- Republican National Committee
Public Affairs
- Center for Public Integrity
- Country Briefings from The Economist
- C-SPAN: Public Affairs on the Web
- Library of Congress Portals to the World: Links to Electronic Resources from Around the World
- Public Agenda Online
- Reuters Foundation AlertNet
- United Nations Global Teaching and Learning Project
Quotations
Reference Collections
- Bartleby.com: Electronic Reference Collection
- Digital Library Production Service: University of Michigan
- Florida Electronic Library (valid Florida public library card number required)
- InfoPlease Online Reference Collection
- Internet Public Library Electronic Reference Desk
Science
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology
- ISIHighlyCited.com
- National Council for Science and the Environment
- Science.gov: USA.Gov for Science
- Scirus: science-specific Internet search engine
- Tech Xtra: engineering, mathematics, and computing search engine
Statistics
- Broward-by-the-Numbers: Statistical Reports from Broward County's Office of Urban Planning and Redevelopment
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- FEDSTATS: Gateway to Statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal Agencies
- Florida CensusData Center
- International Statistical Agencies
- NationMaster.com
- Statistical Resources on the Web: University of Michigan
- U.S. Census Bureau
- American FactFinder
- CenStats Databases
- Census Atlas of the United States
- State and County QuickFacts
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-present)
- Census of Population and Housing Data (1790-present)
- United Nations Statistical Database
Style & Citation Guides
- APA Library Guide
- APA Style: Documenting Sources
- APA Style Tutorial
- APA Style Tips
- Documentation Guidelines for citing sources and avoiding plagiarism: Duke University.
- MLA Library Guide
- MLA Style: Documenting Sources
- MLA Style FAQs
- Using APA Format: Purdue University OWL
- Using MLA Format: Purdue University OWL
Thesauri
- Roget’s International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases
- Visual Thesaurus: Animated Displays of Words
Time, Currency, & Measures
- The Currency Site: FXConverter
- Measure 4 Measure: Gateway to measurement sites in Science/Math, Health, Finance, etc.
- Online Conversion: Convert just about anything to anything else
- The World Clock: Time Zones
Web Directories
Need Help?
-
Ask in Person
-
Ask by Phone
-
Ask by Email
-
Ask by Chat
-
Ask by Text
-
Schedule an Appointment
What kind of appointment do you need to make?
» One-on-One research help for me
» Faculty request for classroom
» Middle/High School & Public groups
Evaluating Resources
The Library is not responsible for the content, accuracy, or any other aspect of external websites.
Click here for tips on how to evaluate websites and information sources.

Loading...
