Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Women and the Law: Home

Library Catalog

Welcome!

To all students taking the Women and the Law Seminar:

The goal of this guide is to provide useful resources to researching topics relating to Women and the Law. The guide does not contain all resources available for this area of law, but it does provide for a great start. It is geared towards free and low cost research in the area and provides specific links for finding such resources.

This guide is divided into five sections:

  • Topic Selection-provides tips on topic selection, suggestions for possible paper topics, how to conduct a preemption check and available resources to guide you in writing your seminar paper. It also contains and RSS Newsfeed from the ABA Journal, specific to Women and the Law issues, so that it is constantly updated with recent news and articles.
  • Books-provides a non-exhaustive list of books available at the Law library that discuss topics related to gender, women and the law.
  • Journals and Databases-provides a non-exhaustive list and links of journals and databases related to gender, women and the law.
  • Online Resources-provides links and descriptions to Women Legal Organizations, Blogs and Think Tanks. It also conains and RSS Newsfeed from the Center for Women and the Law, so that it is constantly updated with recent news and articles.
  • Laws & Regulations-provides links and descriptions of governmental/administrative agencies that deal with women related issues as well as related legislation. The legislation provided are mostly senate bills and are linked to the THOMAS Library of Congress website, so that you are abel to see the history and text of the legislation.
  • Case Law & Legal Documents-provides links to sample cases related to Women and the Law, suggested search terms to find case law related to women and gender issues in the law as well as legal memoranda from women rights organizations.
  • Citations-provides a simple outline of relevant rules for Books, Periodicals, Cases and Online Resources according to the Bluebook.

Hope you find this guide helpful during your research,

Sylvia G. Cano

Subject Guide

Becka Rich's picture
Becka Rich
Contact:
(954) 262-6237 (voice)