Upcoming Programs
-
Sunday, Mar 11, 2012: Culture Vultures Presents: We Are the VoyagersJoin astronomer Janis Hernandez, former Associate Director of the Miami Space Transit Planetarium, in her quest to unravel the mysteries of the Universe.
-
Sunday, Mar 18, 2012: The Big Read: Zora's RootsJoin us for a film screening of Zora’s Roots and a discussion of the life of Zora Neale Hurston, author of this year's Big Read selection: Their Eyes Were Watching God.
-
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012: Sharkey's Storytime: Girl PowerCelebrate Women’s History Month with books by your favorite female authors!
Comments (0)
NovaCat
Women's Roles and Statuses the World Over
Call Number: HQ1236 .H46 2006
ISBN: 0739113569
Publication Date: 2006-04-13
Telling Women's Lives: narrative inquiries in the history of women's education
Call Number: LC1481 .T45 1999
ISBN: 0335201741
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Rereading Women: thirty years of exploring our literary traditions
Call Number: PS152 .G55 2011
ISBN: 9780393067644
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
College Women in the Nuclear Age
Call Number: LC1756 .F34 2012
ISBN: 9780813551401
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Women of Color in Higher Education - Turbulent Past, Promising Future
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781780521695
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
2012 Theme
2012 National Women’s History Month Theme:
Women’s Education – Women’s Empowerment
Each year National Women's History Month employs a unifying theme and recognizes national honorees whose work and lives testify to that theme-
The 2012 Honorees are:
- Emma Hart Willard, (1787 - 1870) Women Higher Education Pioneer
- Charlotte Forten Grimke, (1837 - 1814) Freedman Bureau Educator
- Annie Sullivan, (1866 - 1936) Disability Education Architect
- Gracia Molina Enriquez de Pick, (1929 - ) Feminist Educational Reformer
- Okolo Rashid, (1949 - ) Community Development Activist and Historical Preservation Advocate
- Brenda Flyswithhawks,(1950 - ) American Indian Advocate and Educator
© NWHP 2012: National Women's History Project
Featured Database
Databases
Other databases worth exploring:
- Acadenic OneFile Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 7400 primarily peer-reviewed journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities, social sciences, and more.
- America: History and LifeHistorical and cultural coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from 1910 to the present.
- Biography in Context Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) - Gale Cengage Learning
- Black Women Writers Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
- Daily Life Through HistoryProvides full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present
- Gender Studies
Gender Studies combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases covering topics on sexual diversity and gender engaged topics. - JSTORFull-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics.
- Latin Women Writers Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Need Help?
Public Library Services
For Public Library Services Desk hours and program information, please call 954-262-5477.
-
Ask in Person
Library Address:
3100 Ray Ferrero, Jr. Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314
(click here for map) -
Ask by Phone
954-262-5477
-
Ask by Email
Web Resources
- American Jewess
- Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
- Discovering American Women's History Online
- Florida Memory Project - Women's History Guide
- History.com
- International Women's Day
- National First Ladies' Library
- Women's History Hotlist
- Women's History Month (Library of Congress)
- Women's History Timeline
Organizations
- American Association of University Women (AAUW)
- American Association of University Women (AAUW)-Nova Southeastern University- AAUW Branch
- American Business Women's Association
- Association for Women’s Rights in Development (AWID)
- Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)
- International Federation of University Women (IFUW)
- Madre
- National Organization for Women
- United Daughters of the Confederacy
- USAID Office of Gender Equality & Women's Empowerment
Loading...
