Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Teacher Resources | World Book Databases: Home

World Book

World Book is an online encyclopedia that is a valuable tool for students and teachers alike. Use this guide as an introduction to the many different resources World Book offers.  Then explore World Book on your own and discover even more!

Search World Book Kids

Kids is the premier reference website developed especially for young children. It features an intuitive user interface, thousands of easy-to-read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities. Simple navigation—with image thumbnails next to each entry to add a visual cue—enables kids to find information easily. 

Key Features:

  • World of Animals: Fun and easy-to-use tool to help kids research their favorite animals.
  • Hands-on science projects and experiments cater to many different levels and interests.

Search World Book Student

Optimized for iPads, this comprehensive sites includes engaging content, built-in features, and fun tools specifically designed to make knowledge accessible and easy-to-find for all kids in elementary through middle school. Designed for their age level and ability, special features like Behind the Headlines puts the day's top stories in context for children with straightforward language and links to related articles. The extensive Biography Center houses more than 10,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures. Kids can even search by time period, nationality, gender, and more to narrow their selections. Don't forget about the built-in Dictionary and easy-to navigate Atlas.

Key Features:

  • 40,000 encyclopedia articles and similar resources featuring clear, high-interest content.
  • Lexile® measures on Student's most popular articles.
  • My research enables users to compile content in individualized accounts.
  • How To Do Research features helps users develop critical information literacy skills.
  • Correlated to Common Core, state, and provincial standards.

Search World Book Advanced

Advanced is a powerful multimedia reference tool, perfect for high-school students, that integrates reference articles, eBooks, and primary source databases in a single search. It also includes access to up-to-the-minute news publications from all over the world.

Key Features:

  • Advanced research tools include dictionary, atlas, and more.
  • My Research allows users to compile content in individualized accounts from thousands of fiction and nonfiction eBooks, plus additional titles in 8 languages.
  • Citation Builder creates flawless citations in MLA, APA, and Harvard formats.
  • Lexile® measures on most popular Advanced articles facilitate a targeted reading experience.
  • Access to up-to-the-minute news publications from all over the world.

Search World Book Digital Libraries

World Book Digital Libraries provide an online, interactive complement to World Book's most popular print reference sets. Each World Book Digital Library offers a comprehensive examination of its subject, including text, images, videos and animations.

Search World Book Hallazgos

As the optimal beginner’s Spanish-language reference tool, the site offers all the best elements of Kids—thousands of easy-to read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities—designed to build key language and research skills. 

Key Features:

  • Highly visual articles written at a basic Spanish reading level.
  • Colorful photos, illustrations, and videos.
  • Mundo de Animales (World of Animals), a fun tool for kids to learn about their favorite animals.
  • Integrated with Kids so users can toggle back and forth between Spanish and English.
  • Appealing Spanish Visual Dictionary helps readers build vocabulary.

Teacher Resources

Teacher Resources: Database Use in the Classroom

Click here for a library guide designed to help educators identify the Alvin Sherman Library's databases offering lesson plans, curriculum guides, special topic summaries, or other teaching aids. Created by the database providers, these teaching aides help teachers incorporate database content into curriculum or lesson plans.