Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

NSU Oceanographic Campus Library: New Items of Interest

NEW!


The Alvin Sherman Library is pleased to offer the NSU and Broward community with free subscription access to Lynda.com. Lynda.com is a great online educational site that includes over 5,000 courses (and over 200,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business.


                                                                           Get a Library Card   Log In


With free access to online video tutorials, patrons can learn from industry experts on business, technology, creative skills, and more all at your own pace. Whether you are a professional wanting to refresh your knowledge, or an amateur starting from square one, Lynda.com has relevant courses at a level for everyone.

Who can access Lynda.com?

Current NSU students, faculty, staff, and Alvin Sherman Library cardholders have access to all Lynda.com course materials.

Benefits

  • Unlimited access to thousands of courses – anywhere, anytime
  • New videos added each week with up-to-date content to keep you current on your field of interest
  • Closed captioning on many videos
  • Earn a certificate of completion

How do I access Lynda.com?

From desktop or laptop computers

Log in through the library website using your SharkLink ID and password or Alvin Sherman Library Card and immediately start learning.

Mobile Access (smartphone and tablet)

Mobile access can be done through a variety of ways:

To log in to the Lynda.com App: Switch the App’s login screen from Individual to Organizationtab, choose the Web Portal option and enter “nova.edu”. That will take you to a library authentication page which you can use to enter your SharkLink ID and password or Alvin Sherman Library Card and you’ll be redirected back to Lynda.com once that’s done.

How can I get help?

  • For more information, contact 954-262-4613.
  • Lynda.com Customer Service can be reached at cs@lynda.com or (805) 477-3900.

Additional Help

 

Featured New Resource

Cover for Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences

Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences

About this Book

This Encyclopedia comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed, from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics. Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the “classical” research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term “marine geosciences” has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm.

Online ISBN: 9789400762381             DOI: 10.1007/978-94-007-6238-1 doi

New Databases & E-Journals

 GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) was created in 2002 as a single electronic journal (eJournal) aggregate of earth science research information. A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, GSW is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and interoperable with the GeoRef database. GSW provides electronic access to the journals and archives of more than 46 top-tier digital journals from 28 pre-eminent global publishers.

 

 Greenleaf Online Library

Greenleaf Online Library (GOL) provides instant access to leading thinkers on sustainability; case studies on best practice from international organizations; and evidence-based research to inspire the next generation of socially responsible leaders. This collection covers corporate responsibility, business ethics, environmental policy and management, responsible business strategy and sustainable development. We have unlimited access to more than 5,000 chapters and articles from more than 300 book and journal volumes.

New eBook Materials RSS Feeds

You can subscribe to see new materials by subject categories at: http://sherman.library.nova.edu/new/ 

Loading

New Books